Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This page provides instructions on how to start using JIRA Core and unlicense JIRA Software completely.

 

A reminder of how JIRA changed during the update

When your JIRA application was updated to become JIRA Software, it was automatically configured to support the way most of our customer work: in agile teams creating software. JIRA Software provides tons of great features for running software projects, plus all of the existing features you already love in JIRA.

However, we know that some customers don't want or need access to software features. So we've made it easy to move from JIRA Software to JIRA Core: simply purchase a license for JIRA Core, give your users the appropriate access to JIRA Core, and then unlicense JIRA Software. You can find detail instructions below for moving to JIRA Core; follow the steps that apply for the way your host your applications (Cloud or Server):

 

In Cloud - How to move to JIRA Core

You can move to JIRA Core after your site has been updated to JIRA Software. Keep in mind that your bill won't change to reflect the JIRA Software pricing for three months after your site has been upgraded, so you have plenty of time to explore JIRA Software before you pay for it.

At any time though, you can move from JIRA Software to JIRA Core.

Get and apply your JIRA Core license

Keep in mind that you don't actually need to install the JIRA Core application, since its functionality is available by default in any instance of JIRA. However, you do need to purchase a license for it, which is priced differently from JIRA Software licenses.

  1. In JIRA Software, go to > Discover new applications.
  2. Click the Free trial button to add an evaluation license for JIRA Core.
  3. Follow the prompts and within a couple minutes, JIRA Core will be added to your site.


Change your users' access

  1. Go to > User management
  2. In the left panel, select Application access.
  3. Select the View configuration button.
  4. On the Application access configuration screen, add your user groups to JIRA Core. (You'll likely want your JIRA Core user groups to mirror the groups set for JIRA Software.)
  5. Change the default group in JIRA Core if needed: the default group is the one that new users are added to by default when they're created. (We recommend only having one or two default groups.)


Convert your projects if needed

When your site was updated to JIRA Software, your projects were converted to software projects. You can convert them to be business projects; by converting them, your users will have access to all the features in them (rather than seeing an unlicensed view of features enabled by JIRA Software) and the sidebar will be customized with the features that your users want (like issues and reports).

You need to convert your projects individually (there is no bulk convert feature). JIRA administrators or project admins can convert projects.

  1. Open the project you want to convert. 
  2. In the sidebar, select Project administration.
  3. From the Actions menu at the top right, select Change project type.


Deactivate JIRA Software

After your users are set up with JIRA Core, you can deactivate JIRA Software. Deactivating JIRA Software means that you won't receive notifications about updates for it, and you won't be charged for it in your next bill.

  1. Go to > User management
  2. In the left panel, select Manage applications.
  3. Click the Deactivate link for JIRA Software. Follow the prompts to remove JIRA Software from your site. You can always reactivate it later if you want to.

 On Server - How to move to JIRA Core

This process assumes that you've already upgraded to JIRA Software and now want to move to JIRA Core. If you haven't upgraded yet, we recommend that you upgrade to JIRA Software first and then follow these instructions for moving to JIRA Core. (Keep in mind that you don't actually need to install the JIRA Core application, since its functionality is available by default in any instance of JIRA. However, you do need to purchase a license for it, which is priced differently from JIRA Software licenses.)

Before starting this process, please contact us so we can give you a one-time discount on your new JIRA Core license. This way you will pay the same price as you would to renew your existing JIRA license.

Get and apply your JIRA Core license

Purchase a JIRA Core license. (Please do this through a Customer Advocate so we can provide the license at the same cost you have been paying for your JIRA license.) After you have your license, you can apply it to your instance:

  1. In JIRA Software, go to > Applications
  2. On the Versions & licenses page, select the Paste licenses link and paste the license given to you by your advocate.

     

Change your users' access

Next, set up your users to work in JIRA Core instead of JIRA Software.

  1. Go to > Applications
  2. Select Application access in the left navigation panel. You'll notice that you have one default group for JIRA Core, but the rest of your groups will be assigned to JIRA Software
  3. Add your user groups to JIRA Core. (You'll likely want your JIRA Core user groups to mirror the groups set for JIRA Software.)
  4. Change the default group in JIRA Core if needed: the default group is the one that new users are added to by default when they're created. (We recommend only having one or two default groups.)


Convert your projects if needed

When you upgraded to JIRA Software, your projects were converted to software projects. You can convert them to be business projects; by converting them, your users will have access to all the features in them (rather than seeing an unlicensed view of features enabled by JIRA Software) and the sidebar will be customized with the features that your users want (like issues and reports).

You need to convert your projects individually (there is no bulk convert feature). JIRA administrators or project admins can convert projects.

  1. Open the project you want to convert. 
  2. In the sidebar, select Project administration.
  3. From the Actions menu at the top right, select Change project type.


Unlicense JIRA Software

After your users are set up with JIRA Core, you can unlicense JIRA Software. Unlicensing JIRA Software means that you won't receive notifications about updates for it, and you won't receive a quote for it at your next renewal. 

  1. Go to > Applications
  2. Select the Uninstall link in the JIRA Software section. This will remove the application from your instance so you won't receive notifications about updates for it.
  3. During the removal, you'll be able to choose whether you want to remove the JIRA Software configuration. If you choose not to remove the configuration, software-specific project data will be kept in your instance. If you choose to reinstall JIRA Software in the future, it will be available. (Other data, such as users' permissions in software projects, will also be stored, so keep in mind that users will be given those permissions automatically if you reinstall JIRA Software later.

When you're finished, your Versions & licenses page should no longer have a JIRA Software section.

  • No labels